What's new

Advice for a Mere Mortal in the Realm of Wetshaving

Hey everybody! My name is Will and I'm from Louisiana. I joined this rather helpful site a few weeks ago, and since then have found many users who are passionate and knowledgeable about shaving. Now, let's jump into the part about wetshaving (for that is the title of this post).:laugh:

I am new to shaving with a double-edge razor and brush. I did some reading up on pre-shave routines and stumbled upon one that made the most sense. Wet face first with warm water, followed by a hot (but not painfully hot) towel for several minutes, brush on lather and massage into skin, then splash face with warm water to begin your passes.
This routine makes sense because you aren't overdrying/exfoliating your face but instead using the natural oils in the skin to provide extra lubrication for better glide. I enjoy this ritual and find that it helps to prep the skin for the shave.
My shaving equipment includes:
Parker Silvertip brush
Merkur 34C HD w/ Astra SP Blades
Petal Pusher Fancies Kokum Butter Soap
Mama Bear's Summer Aftershave Balm

I did loads of research on this site and on the net to find reputable companies/manufacturers to acquire products that are both skin and eco-friendly. I notice that I feel slight razor burn/cuts and redness after a shave. I generously apply the Mama Bear's Aftershave to help soothe my skin, which it definitely does. As said before, I am a beginner and I greatly look forward to more practice to enhance my technique and the like.

QUESTIONS:
1). I perform a downward and upward pass, should I stick with simply a few downward (against the grain) passes, or should I practice both with and against?
2). When I bowl lather, it seems that the lather disappears by the time I am ready to shave, should I just face lather?

Thank you for reading this post and I hope I share similar questions to other newbies out there who are also wondering!