What's new

Absolute beginner

I have started with Dovo 100, 5/8"

The first shave was bad if compare with my FEATHER AS-D2 SAFETY RAZOR

After a few attempts to strop a razor by Dovo strap, I bought Shapton glass stones1000/3000/8000 and Illinois Razor Strop #127

I have made improvements, but I think the edge is wrong now.

Is it possible to fix the edges or it's too late?

Attachments

• dovo1.jpg
    dovo1.jpg
    2.1 MB · Views: 89
  • dovo.jpg
    dovo.jpg
    2.3 MB · Views: 92
Wow. That looks like a lot of pressure used.

you should be able to get to an edge, but it wont be pretty. are you using the basic bevel testing with sharpies or thumbnail test?

the feather is pretty smooth, that dovo can get get close but probably not with 8000.

Oof, really did a number on that straight, didn't you? It's fixable, but it'll take a steady hand. My recommendation si either send it out to someone like Doc to fix it, or write this one off as a learner and keep going - knives need pressure on stones, razors don't - the lighter the better

As mentioned by global_dev it seems like you used a lot of pressure. The blade is thin and flexible, thus any form of downward pressure will cause the edge apex to lift up off the stone thereby taking of material behind it. This is why your bevel is uneven and very pronounced.

Shapton cuts very quick so its important to inspect your progress carefully after 20 or so laps to visual confirm what’s happening to the spine and bevel.

To correct the geometry I would breadknife/straighten the edge, check and correct any wobble on the spine and start over using tape until the bevel is set. Its not going to look pretty, but better than you have now. This I recommend you have an experienced honer do for you.

Buy some Gold Dollars or beater vintage blade to learn with. Honing seems easy...

Learn how to do x-strokes and control pressure.