What's new

A reminder of why I love DE shaving over cartridge razors

I've been shaving with DE razors for 6-7 years now, the last few years with my 1959 Fat Boy and just recently by adding a 1957 Red Tip. I use a rotation of TOBS, T&H, and AOS creams. However, due to travel needs, I will on occasion switch to a Mach III cartridge razor and Edge Gel in a can, mostly so I don't have to check my bag.

I had to do the Mach III/Edge thing this past weekend, using a new Mach III. Jeez, did it ever remind me of why I like my DE shaving experience! It felt like shaving with broken glass. While I got a reasonably close shave with two passes, my face was killing me when I was done. I can't believe this is how I used to shave every day.

This morning, I was back to my FB and regular creams. Got a BBS shave with absolutely zero irritation. How do guys use that other stuff?

Great observations! This is why I am sticking with ‘traditional shaving’ for the duration!!

I hear that!

About 6 weeks ago, I got caught out (I work in London during the week and travel back to the Midlands on weekends) and on the weekend when it came to having a shave, I realised I had some how managed to run out of DE blades that I carry in my travel bag.

I had a old Gillette Fusion at the back of the bathroom cabinet with fresh blades (only because it had a set of unused blades is why its been sat at the back of the cabinet for 5 years) so reluctantly used that. Even for 2 days of growth, it was seriously uncomfortable. It pulled and tugged relentlessly, got clogged instantly and needed rinsing relentlessly. I had to repeat the strokes approximately 6-7 times in the same area to get the equivalent of 1 pass with a decent DE razor. I also noticed that it takes no skill to use a cartridge razor, just shove it into your skin and let it pull/tug. It was an exhausting and annoying experience in comparison.