What's new

A pair of shaving brushes

This is my first attempt to make a shaving brush, or rather two. I had a seasoned olive branch, just barely the size I needed. I don't own a lathe so I carved the handles with knives, pierced them with Forstner tips and burned them with a pyrograph. the knots are 24mm silvertip from two different suppliers. Of course I have already tested them and I am quite satisfied with them.

Pennelli Barba 01.jpg

Roberto, I like the pockmarked effect on the one on the left. Would be nice to see that in a brush that had a little more curve to it.

Outstanding! I particularly like the one on the left. Not your first carving attempt, just your first brushes, obviously.

I was worried about the humidity so I used acrylic paint, satin on the left and glossy on the right, but for the next brush I will try only with linseed oil

FarmerTan

"Self appointed king of Arkoland"
You have inspired me to be on the lookout for suitable "kindling" to take a knife to. Absolutely wonderful my friend!

Chandu

I Waxed The Badger.
I was worried about the humidity so I used acrylic paint, satin on the left and glossy on the right, but for the next brush I will try only with linseed oil
I would not do that for a shave brush. Too much moisture. Linseed is prone to growing mildew in a moist environment.