What's new

A Moderator Shaves The Beard For Charity

Toothpick

Needs milk and a bidet!
Staff member

The time has come when a 19 month old beard gets shaved off! And it's for a great cause.

Some of you may remember me posting a thread back in 2015 about my beard growing dilemma. My best friend asked if I would grow a beard for her wedding and I agreed. Here is the thread and full story: To grow a beard or not to grow a beard?

So when the day came to start the beard growing I created a thread to keep everyone updated. Here's that thread along with photos of the journey: Hi, I'm A Beard and I'm Growing A Jason For A Year.

And a nifty video that shows pictures of the year of growing, soft of time lapse:

So let's get to the reason I've decided to shave and the charity that will benefit.

It started in 2015 with a tongue in cheek comment “You should grow a beard for my wedding”. Well, that’s exactly what I did. I’m Jason, and I’ve been growing a beard for 19 months. As I stated it all started from a comment made by my best friend, Caroline. She was getting married in 2016 and I was one of her bridesmaids, or as I like to call it; bromaid. Weather she was serious or not, who really knows? But I was serious with my beard growing. So, I started growing The Beard October 22nd, 2015 and on the day of her wedding (Oct. 22, 2016) it would be exactly 1 year old. The Beard (yes, it is a proper noun) and I decided we needed a good reason to shave. So, after the wedding it remained attached to me until we could find that reason. Which brings us to where we are now. In 2009 Caroline’s father passed away due to mesothelioma. He was a great man that fought hard until the very end. Once again, she presented me with a brilliant idea; why not shave the beard to help raise funds for mesothelioma research? Once again, I’m all in! The Beard and I have been attached to each other for roughly 19 months. It’s my pleasure to put The Beard on the line and help raise funds for mesothelioma