What's new

A little edge geometry help please

A little background first. I've been shaving with a Parker Shavette for 10 years now. I primarily use Astra blades which have an edge averaging 16.5°. I also make custom knives as a hobby and decided to try my hand at my own straight razor.

Here's the rub... After getting it sharpened to what I believe (if I'm doing the math correctly) is 16°, I can't seem to even begin to cut hair with it. I have really thick, coarse facial hair, and very sensitive skin of course, so I'm looking for something pretty dang sharp.

heres what I have so far...

Spine - .25"
Total Height - .9"
Bevel height - .79"
Legnth - 2.5"

I'm brand new to sharpening these, so hopefully someone on here can tell me what I've messed up. I started with a 400 grit stone, and progressed with 1000, 3000, 8000.

Attachments

• PXL_20220908_025159776.PORTRAIT.jpg
    PXL_20220908_025159776.PORTRAIT.jpg
    1.7 MB · Views: 51
  • PXL_20220908_025115212.jpg
    PXL_20220908_025115212.jpg
    1.6 MB · Views: 39
  • PXL_20220910_194904844.jpg
    PXL_20220910_194904844.jpg
    933.9 KB · Views: 38
  • PXL_20220908_025044259.jpg
    PXL_20220908_025044259.jpg
    1.6 MB · Views: 43
  • PXL_20220908_014618111.jpg
    PXL_20220908_014618111.jpg
    1.6 MB · Views: 45
Based on the numbers you've reported, that would be more like 18 degrees, and I'm not sure your measurement of the active width (i.e. top of spine wear to apex) is accurate based on the photo. If the active width is shorter, the angle will be more obtuse.

18 degrees, properly honed, should shave, even with coarse whiskers, so I suspect it may be a honing learning curve. (16 degrees will likely cut better, though).

rbscebu

Girls call me Makaluod
Knowing the steel type and heat treatment process you used would be a help. Some steels, even very good knife steels, will not take a shave-ready edge.