What's new

A couple razors for a hefty price vs. many for a lower price?

I am sure this has been debated many times before, and if there is a detailed thread(s) somewhere, please post it here for me.

I am new to wet shaving/DE razors, but I have surprised myself at how well I have done. I have a 1970 black SS Gillette TTO (my wife's grandfather's) and what most assume is a Weishi, labeled as the "Micro One Touch". I can get a very good shave with either of them, using Noxema in the shower, followed by pre-shave oil, then a good soap, Thayers witch hazel, then good old Pinaud's AS. I am not experiencing any cuts, bumps, or neck burn that doesn't go away completely within an hour or two. My only complaint is that I must make at least 4 passes in the usual different directions, followed by chin and neck touchups. I am thinking that I might do better with a more aggressive razor(s), but I know that in retrospect, I might well end up preferring the milder razors. I have a EJ DE89L on the way.

So, on to my question(s).

I see that many guys go through multiple razors, but most end up with only a very few that are actually their "go-to" razors. I can see myself easily going down the same path. If I spend $300-$500 on 7-10 decent vintage and/or new razors, and then decide to buy one or two "expensive" ($75-$180) DE razors, and end up preferring them, I have "already spent several hundred dollars. On the other hand, If I pick up several decent razors in the $35-$60 range, I get to try more safety razor styles for less money spent per razor, just deciding if I like the style (open comb, safety bar, slant, adjustable etc, etc.).

I live in a small city, and the closest larger cities that might have some "Gentlemen Shops" with several razors to at least hold and look over are 4-5 hours away. So, the only feasible option is to buy online and wonder what I am getting until it is "used".