What's new

6 weeks in and a massive thank you to you all!

Evening everyone!

I'm James, I'm 28 and live in NW England - I've been a member here (and wet shaving) for approx 6 weeks and have to say thank you for the amount of information that you all contribute, it's accelerated my learning no end. Also, I've never seen such a supportive and positive community on the internet, uplifting to stumble upon.

I've been using a brush and cream for 5 years and cartridge razors since I was a lad, only recently started DE shaving recently, after having an uncomfortable cartridge shave on a week's growth and then looking for better solutions.

I've amassed a lot of stuff for a noob, some I've purchased, some I had already, and some razors I've been gifted from a dear friend.

Hardware
Razors
'65 Gillette Slim
Gillette Fatboy (unknown year, arriving tomorrow - hopefully!)
Merkur Futur (yet to use)
EJ DE89 (yet to use)
Brushes
TOBS super badger large brush
Crabtree & Evelyn travel brush
Blades - working my way through a sampler now and Permasharp, Personna Israeli Reds, and Bic platinum chromes stand out for me so far. Yet to try feathers but seem to like sharp blades.

Software
Pre

Trumper Skin Food Limes
During
TOBS peppermint cream
Crabtree & Evelyn W Indian Lime cream
Crabtree & Evelyn sandalwood soap (the one that doesn't lather)
Homemade aftershave - witch hazel, eucalyptus and peppermint.
Nivea sensitive moisturiser (also contains witch hazel)

Cologne
Penhaligons Bayolea
Tom Ford Grey Vetiver
ADP Oud

Heard some of you guys like pictures so here's a before and after of the slim I got at the start of March. Not had to replate it - it's just cleaned up well, I've repainted the numbers just today.

slim before and after.png

Welcome to B&B and glad you were able to find all you needed.

Looks like your slim cleaned up nicely.

Futur is a nice razor but it has been known to "bite the hand that holds it"