What's new

6-piece set for $70 Norton "look alike" - is it worth it?

So, I've found this best selling deal on Amazon.

I know there are some $300/piece Japanese stones, but then I am not a professional and this is not even a hobby for me. So, I've no intention of spending north of $1,000 for a bunch of "super stones".

Judging by reviews, these seem great.

Anything I should be aware of?

1588601972478.png

Knives generally are sharpened at a much coarser grit than straight razors. Abrasive density and hardness come into play as well. Soft stones dish faster. I would not be a buyer, jmo.

So, I've found this best selling deal on Amazon.

I know there are some $300/piece Japanese stones, but then I am not a professional and this is not even a hobby for me. So, I've no intention of spending north of $1,000 for a bunch of "super stones".

Judging by reviews, these seem great.

Anything I should be aware of?

View attachment 1095775
It might work. It's better if you can find something that someone else has used and can recommend.

What I use is not that much different. I use a King 1000 grit for $30 and two Japanese Waterstone Slipstones that are 4000 grit and 8000 grit. The closest thing I could find now sell for $15 and $25.

Plus I use a "12k" finishing hone

if it is not a hobby then you don't really need a full set of stones.

Get a solid 8k stone and a naniwa 12k for 200$ in total. will last you forever and down the road when 8k does not work you can get a 5k stone.

Those stones are okay for knife sharpening, but from what I have seen people just get it as a starter kit

if it is not a hobby then you don't really need a full set of stones.

Get a solid 8k stone and a naniwa 12k for 200$ in total. will last you forever and down the road when 8k does not work you can get a 5k stone.

Those stones are okay for knife sharpening, but from what I have seen people just get it as a starter kit
Naniwa 12K's on it's way already.