What's new

5 Years in and still learning.

Well what do you know, after about 5 years of using shaving soaps I am still learning better ways of lathering. The well known fact of using more product can make a substantial difference as I discovered with Arko. A few months ago, I decided that I had to give this famous soap another shot but I could never really get the kind of stellar shaves everyone seemed to be getting with it. The lather I was getting was thin and underprotective. Then one day, I thought I would just lay it on thick and see what happens. So I loaded my brush with lather and started face lathering, after a while, I loaded some more lather onto my brush and then continued face lathering and finally I loaded one more time and then went back to my face. After that I dipped the tips of my brush in water and then continued face lathering and repeated the process until I was satisfied with the lather consistency. By now I had plastered my face with a thick layer of slick lather and it made a tremendous difference to the shave. I was reticent to do this before because, I found that thick lather would create drag, but the key seems to be to saturate the lather with water to the extent that when you shave, the lather and stubble residue left on my straight tend to run off the blade under its own weight. Arguably this process takes a bit more time but it is very rewarding in terms of lather quality. Frankly, I do not mind because I enjoy the face lathering part nearly as much as the shaving part.