What's new

4th DE Shave...Thanks!

Quick back story, I've been using a cartridge razor for 20 of my 35 years. Most recently I've been using Harry's products, but came across the following razor The Plow as part of a package deal. Needless to say, since it was deeply discounted I went for it. The first few shaves were rough on my neck, and I nicked myself more than ever before. Then a few people from another forum I frequent (nothing to do with shaving) were talking about DE razors and I began to take heed of their advice. Long story short, they said to come here and so I did.

Presently I just wrapped up my 4th shave with a DE razor. While I know "The Plow" isn't regarded probably at all, I managed to get a comfortable shave with no razor burn and no nicks this time. I followed the pre-shave prep using a pre-shave oil, warm water, getting better at making a lather with my col conk shave soap and used little to no pressure and focused shaving WTG. I followed up with some Ogalla Bay Rum and I feel like I just left the barber!

I get it now, can't wait to continue to refine my technique with both lather formation, shaving, etc. I have a Merker 34c with a blade sampler pack sitting in the cabinet, not sure if I should just jump into a higher quality razor/blade or practice with the entry level equipment first. By the way the blades for "The Plow" have literally no markings so I'm not sure who the OEM is.

Just wanted to say thanks to all the contributors for the wealth of knowledge I was able to pick up over the last two days of browsing!

-Pete

Welcome aboard! The 34C is an excellent razor and you’ll be pleased with it. If it were me I’d jump to that soon. But some good advice, separately, is to pick a setup and stick with it while you hone your skills. Good luck!

If in your position, I'd switch to the Merkur and stay with that for a while.

I used my Merkur exclusively for my first 5 years of DE shaving, and I'm glad I did.

Sent from my Nokia 7.1 using Tapatalk