What's new

40s Super Speed Chatter?

So my vintage 40s SS arrived today in the mail, just in time for a night shave in prep for a meeting tomorrow morning. I don't know if this is what people call "chatter", but on some of the first passes, I kind of felt the blade "trotting" along the skin. It may be an angle or a pressure problem, but it's something that has never happened with my Merkur (34C).

I felt A LOT of blade compared to the Merkur, and this "chatter" made me kinda nervous. After about two or three passes experiencing this, I tried reducing pressure as much as possible. When I let the razor do the work, things went pretty smoothly. There were some nicks, but they were kind of expected, due to a pretty reckless ATG polishing sesh with the Merkur (using a less-than-fresh Personna Red) two days ago.

I'm a total noob (just under a month) so I will appreciate the guidance.

Whenever I've experienced blade chatter, it's always been because my lather wasn't slick enough. At that point, I add water.

40s SS is one of the smoothest zero chatter razors I've ever owned. No matter whatever blade I choose and no matter how badly I lather, I never experience "chatter" whatsoever. And whenever I use this razor I apply a LOT of pressure and still have had zero issues. I think this is the only razor that has yet to nick me. I think your issue is probably due to blade or lather.

what your describing sounds like tug to me. Chatter is really the sound of the blade cutting the whisker.

Sounds like you have solved your problem yourself. The 1940's SS are very forgiving razors, but a little more aggressive than your Merkur.

No pressure and also shoot for some slicker lather as Steve noted.

Good luck. Remember to relax and enjoy the ride.