What's new

3 Months in and still havn't got a bloodless shave

Hi all:
I'm new to DE Shaving having been a cart shaver my whole life. I took the plunge and bought an EJ DE89. I have tried a few different blades (Astra SS and SP, Derby, Feather) and I have yet to do a 3 pass shave without drawing any blood. I seem to have the best luck with the Astra SS but still a few nicks each shave. I'm not sure what I am doing wrong. I try to put no pressure on the blade. I lather up soap using either my boar or pure badger brush. I have tried several different soaps and creams (currently like the Body Shop Macca Root cream). As far as i know I am keeping the angle right-i can hear it cutting. I have ordered 5 more small packs of different blades to try in the meantime along with some DR Harris Arlington soap. I would appreciate any secret tips you veterans have that could make my shaves a bit better.
Thanks

Couple of things that might help us help you:

1. Have you mapped your beard growth?
2. Which directions are you going for your 3 passes?
3. Are you generally getting weepers in the same spots each time?

Claudel Xerxes

Staff member
There will probably be quite a few suggestions until we can figure this out.

Along with Rockminer's questions:

4. Do you use short strokes, or long strokes?
5. What is your pre-shave preparation?
6. Have you tried just doing a 2 pass shave? Do you seem to draw blood on the last pass more often?
7. Are you a daily shaver, or do you shave every few days?

1. Have not mapped my beard growth but I have a general idea of how it grows based on feeling stuble. Good suggestion.
2. My 3 passes are WTG, XTG and finish with ATG.
3. I do generally get weepers obove the lip and around the chin. Very rarely do I get them on the side of my jaw.
4. I try to do short strokes. I definately dont take the long strokes I use to take when cartridge shaving.