What's new

2nd day stubble very itchy all of a sudden. Any idea why?

I’ve been shaving for nearly 20 years. My facial hair isn’t very thick, but it is thick enough to produce a reasonable beard. I’ve most commonly shaved every other day without issue, but even when I go days or weeks without shaving I rarely get itchy. But recently my stubble is very itchy the day after I shave. Could this be a problem with my equipment? Or is it more likely that my beard has gotten thicker slowly over the years and it’s gotten to a point where it’s itchy now?

In case it’s relevant, I’ve used Feather disposable blades in my safety razor for about 10 years, and have been using a straight razor for about 3 years. I almost never use my safety razor anymore so I’m not sure if it would cause this or not, but my straight razor definitely does. My straight razor still cuts as well as it did when I got it (I strop it with aluminum oxide or whatever it is, plus linen and then leather).

rbscebu

Girls call me Makaluod
It is most probably your straight razor. Best you give up trying with a straight razor, sell it on BST, and go back to "safety" razors.

Perhaps your beard has gotten slowly thicker and you skin has also gotten thinner and dryer as you have aged? Does applying a face moisturizing lotion to your face provide any relief? I know i often have to use one to prevent the whiskers from irritation my skin as they grow back in.

luvmysuper

My elbows leak
Staff member
It is most probably your straight razor. Best you give up trying with a straight razor, sell it on BST, and go back to "safety" razors.
You may be a guy like me whose dry/droll sense of humor can often come across as unhelpful advice without the use of an emoji to clarify that what you are saying is intended as humor.
At least, I hope that's the case!