What's new

.22-250 in the hay fields today.

Today I sat glassing the hay fields looking for a groundhog. Came up dry. Figured I would because it was very windy.

I carried with me a 30 year old Remington 700 BDL Varmint Special in .22-250 wearing a 4-16 scope.

It was loaded with a 55 gr Hornady SPBT over 35 gr of Varget. The load chronographed 3400 fps. Not the fastest, but very accurate. It should be easy on the barrel. The gun will shoot 5 shots at 100 yards that you can cover with a dime.

20200330_202943.jpg

20200330_193341.jpg

Last edited:
I have a similar set up except my Varmint is a 1970 vintage, making it 50 years old, and is .223. I was a young USAF officer and got that caliber so I could shoot some military ammo, and at least get brass. Mine had a 4-12 Redfield scope, but my eyes got to the point where I just could not focus it, so replaced it with a side focus Leupold 6-18 dot reticule.

I believe yours has the barrel tapped at the rear for a barrel mounted scope base. Mine does not. I believe those screw holes were not put on after the early 80s....I wish mine had them. I have a Unertl and a Redfield 3200. One of those would be on my gun.

I have a 12 year old single shot T/C Encore in .223 with a custom bull barrel that will put five holes in about the same size pattern. It wears a 4x14 Leupold scope. I've taken many a prairie dog with that setup. Fun rifle to shoot also. There's something very satisfying meditative about the slow one shot, one kill process. At least until the tail whirs like a helicopter or I see the red mist. Then my heart races just a bit faster...

OkieStubble

Dirty Donuts are so Good.
Today I sat glassing the hay fields looking for a groundhog. Came up dry. Figured I would because it was very windy.

I carried with me a 30 year old Remington 700 BDL Varmint Special in .22-250 wearing a 4-16 scope.