What's new

1st Restoration - I'm hooked

Hello all.

I've been wetshaving since Christmas and just recently started learning to use a straight. Love it and really thank this community immensely for my success.

Well, I'm a tinkerer and a hobbyist with everything I do so AD's had to follow. I also love making/restoring related items.

Found this great little brush for $1 at an antiques mall in Greeneville, TN while vacationg with my wife.

proxy.php

proxy.php

I was surprised with how good of a shape the handle was in.

The knot came out fairly easily. The only tricky part is that there is no shelf that the old knot sat on. It just sat right on top of the wood from the handle. Nothing a dremel tool couldn't fix (actually used dremel bits mounted in my drill press for more control).

proxy.php

proxy.php

The hole measured 21mm so I ordered a 22mm Best Badger knot from Whippeddog.com. Man is this thing soft. I did have to open up the hole a good bit to get it to fit but I'm very happy with it.

proxy.php

Here it is beside my other badger brush, a Crabtree & Evelyn Best Badger small (made by Edwin Jagger). I love this brush, of course that is compared to the VDH I started with.

proxy.php

I let the knot set up for 24 hours before I used it. Oh man, this thing is a sponge. I did my usual, let it soak in water while I was in the shower then shook it out gently and began to work some Real Shave Co cream. It was like soup. The brush held so much water I had to start over and actually squeeze some of the water out this time.

Got some great results (sorry, no picture it was on a rushed morning). The knot is considerably denser than the C&E BBB and has a lot more back bone. At the same time, the tips are softer. I love this brush!!!!!!

Here's a shot of the blooms for comparison. I need to get a shot from the top so you can see the density.

proxy.php