What's new

The Glenlivet 12

It's a good 12 for the money but the 15 and 18 are definitely better. its a good daily scotch
Aroma
3.00 star(s)
Price
4.00 star(s)
Value
3.00 star(s)
Flavor
4.00 star(s)
Quality
3.00 star(s)
Packaging
5.00 star(s)
I just bought a bottle the other day, it was my first single malt and I really enjoyed it. While I probably don't have a very sophisticated palet, I did notice the hint of vanila that Tim mentioned.
Aroma
0.00 star(s)
Price
0.00 star(s)
Value
0.00 star(s)
Flavor
0.00 star(s)
Quality
0.00 star(s)
Packaging
0.00 star(s)
displayimage.php
Even as a novice I have progressed far beyond this whisky, but I still drink it on occasion. Most bars, even the ones with dismal single malt selections, will have either this or Glenfiddich. While it's not my favorite by any means, it's a damn fine whisky that's inexpensive, accessible, and a great way to get into single malts.
Aroma
3.00 star(s)
Price
5.00 star(s)
Value
5.00 star(s)
Flavor
3.00 star(s)
Quality
4.00 star(s)
Packaging
4.00 star(s)
Glenlivet 12 year old is just so consistent and such great value.... you'd think it was would be easy to forget but of my 4-5 bottles of single malt it's the one I reach for the most.
Aroma
4.00 star(s)
Price
4.00 star(s)
Value
4.00 star(s)
Flavor
4.00 star(s)
Quality
3.00 star(s)
Packaging
3.00 star(s)
A trusted standby. Nothing special, but special for being so darn good.

If you are starting into single malts (or scotch at all and want to try it neat rather than mixed) this should be your first choice. This is the one to serve to your guests (when you have good friends over, and can reach for the 'good stuff'.)

When I first explored single malts, I reached for this bottle first, and then Glenfiddich (the Pepsi to Glenlivet's Coke in the world of ubiquitous single malts.) This one is miles ahead ... I doubt that I will ever buy Glenfiddich again, but this one for sure.
Aroma
4.00 star(s)
Price
5.00 star(s)
Value
5.00 star(s)
Flavor
4.00 star(s)