What's new

The Gentlemens Quarter Desert Ironwood

OK, I am fairly new to the TGQ line and ordered several samples to try and here is what I have observed.

1. To describe the TGQ scents in a word? Intoxicating. I picked up samples of 5 different scents. Bay Rum w/ Orange, Oak & Moss, Desert Ironwood, Leatherneck, and Toasted Almond. With the exception of the Almond scent, which I find has a very "synthetic" smell to it, all of the scents have an allure to them. Some of them I am not quite sure that I like but I find myself coming back to them and sniffing the hell out of 'em just to make sure. :001_smile I think that I have settled on Desert Ironwood and Leatherneck as the standout favorites of the scents that I received. Both very masculine and unique in their own right. Their scents are fleeting as you rinse them off (which I have come to expect from most soaps). During the shave their presence is sufficient.

2. These soaps take a bit more water to generate a healthy lather than some other soaps. When the ratio is right, they produce a wonderfully thick, creamy lather. Bubbles are almost non-existent when they are whipped up correctly. I wasn't overly impressed with the amount of lather they produced but I certainly wasn't dissatisfied either....enough for 2 strong passes and an average 3rd.