What's new

Taylor's Herbal Pre-Shave gel

I have been wetshaving for many years and know my beard extremely well. I have a very tough, coarse beard and have tried many pre-shave products including Proraso, many oils and other products. I was recommended this by a barber in the Gentlemans Shop so I had to try it.
I have to admit I was sceptical at first but boy was I surprised. This stuff softens my beard like nothing else and even prolongs the life of blades because it works so well. You need to let it "soak" for a few minutes but I have never used a product that has made such a difference to my beard prior to shaving.
It might not make such a difference to softer beards but I can tell you from experience that it significantly softens your stubble if you are in my category.
It knocks spots off Proraso pre/post shave and anything else I have tried and I couldn't imagine shaving without it now.
It might not smell the best, or come in the fanciest container, but it is the most effective shaving product I have tried in 27 years of shaving and I have tried plenty!
N.B It doesn't lather or moisturise but I wasn't going to mark it down for that.
Price
3.00 star(s)
Scent
3.00 star(s)
Quality
5.00 star(s)
Efficacy
5.00 star(s)
Packaging
5.00 star(s)
Moisturizing
5.00 star(s)
Latherability
5.00 star(s)
I am a great fan of many of TOBS products. This, however, isn't one of them. I detected no improvement in lubrication when I used this product. In fact, on multiple passes it seemed to slow down the razor, kind of making your skin 'squeaky clean', causing the razor to skip.

If there is an effective pre-shave oil or gel out there, this isn't it.
Price
1.00 star(s)
Scent
2.00 star(s)
Quality
1.00 star(s)
Efficacy
0.00 star(s)
Packaging
1.00 star(s)
Moisturizing
0.00 star(s)
Latherability
0.00 star(s)