What's new

Shavemaster S100

I've been using the Shavmaster S100 for about two months now. I wanted to spend time with it before writing a review but I've lost my patience. Bear in mind my only other brush to compare to is the C&E Best Badger brush.
View attachment 16005

Availability: This brush is only available direct from Enchante in Austin, Texas. It's not on their website so you have to call 512-320-0010.

Price: I paid $95 plus tax (I live in Austin) I thinks this is a good value compared to a Rooney Style 3, Size 2 (Medium), "Genuine Silvertip" which sells for about $100 and is about equivalent in size.

Brush dimensions:
(My best measurements with a metric ruler)
Knot ~ 25 mm
Loft ~ 50 mm
Handle 65mm tall
Height 115 mm overall
Fan shaped - very flat on the top.

The handle is one of the best things about this brush. It's coke bottle shaped. 35mm at the knot, 30mm in the middle and 40 mm at the base. Kind of curvy like a good woman. The handle is Cherry wood. Someone posted elsewhere that other woods are available. When I was at the store they only had Cherry so I can't verify if other woods are available. I understand it is coated with three coats of marine varnish. Very nice finish. Not slick. It has a certain stickiness to it so it doesn't feel slippery when wet.

Th handle is weighted so it's a fairly heavy brush at approximately 125 grams. By comparison my C&E Best Badger brush weighs a mere 50 grams. I believe the handle is weighted for several reasons. The first so that the brush won't float when you soak it in a sink full of hot water. The second so that it will stand up on your counter top between passes. The weighting also provides a nice balance to the brush when it's loaded with cream. You gotta be pretty clumsy to knock this one over. In my opinion, If you want something that feels more like a hand tool and less like a dainty cosmetics brush this might be the one for you.