What's new

Semogue 2030

This is my first attempt at a review. I didn't think I had anything of value to contribute until I realized that no one has reviewed the Semogue 2030 (probably because it is a new brush in that product line). Please keep my "newbieness" in mind as you read this review.

I bought my 2030 about 3 months ago because

1. I wanted a badger brush with a little backbone and
2. I liked the look of it: black with crome and brass handle.

Although I don't use it exclusively (I also have a "no name" silvertip badger and several boar brushes), I have used it enough to say that this is a very nice, classy looking brush at a great price. After about a month it bloomed so that it is now flared out about an inch compared to the one in the picture at the beginning of this review taken from the Vintage Scents site. Although the bloom is nowhere near as dramatic and full as that of my silvertip, it still is very nice. It looks quite handsome hanging up on its nickel "T" stand next to my EJ ebony Chatsworth. Below is a picture of my Semogue and silvertip side by side for comparison.

View attachment 80181

The price of the 2030 is $49 plus shipping (from Vintage Scents) which places it in the middle of the Semogue price range. It is not at the lower end because it is a badger brush not boar, but isnt at the high end either because it is not 100% silver tip. The description says it is "pure badger", "from several body parts", "mixed hair types". Given the price, I take this to mean it is mostly pure badger with some best and maybe one or two strands of silvertip.

Regardless of the exact hair type mix, it has the backbone I was looking for. At the same time is fairly soft against my face. At first, it was too stiff and scratchy, but after 8-10 uses the tips became noticably softer while retaining its backbone. It seems to be well made. As far as I know, it has not lost a single bristle in three months.