What's new

Parker SR2, SR1, SRW, and SRB Straight Razor DE

Item Description

I recently purchased the Parker SR2 Straight Razor for $16. I don't have straight razor experience, but I was impressed enough with this razor to write this review. Prior to this purchase I had bought a cheap generic $7 DE Straight razor off ebay with fold metal to hold the blade. I was not impressed with the generic.

The Parker SR2 has a nice weight to it and feels well balanced. The blade holding mechanics are solid and hold the blade in the proper alignment. The color is all chrome even though it appears brownish is the picture.

I am able to get close to BBS shaves on the first pass and BBS on the second. I currently only use the Parker SR2 on my cheeks and neck. I am new to the straight razor experience (2 weeks) and the chin area is my achilles heel.

All in all...
I feel the Parker SR2 is a great buy.
It looks good and has a good balance.
Its shaves great.
Its easy to maintain.
I would recommend it to other newbies who want a little practice with a DE straight razor.

Granted I might be comparing a moped to a motorcycle in this review.
And judging from the straight razors videos on youtube... either I'm being overly careful or those guys are good... or the technics are different. The motions seem to be very similar.

I will be using the Parker SR2 to practice my straight razor motion technics.
And I believe it will help me decide whether to go full ahead and get the $200+ straight razor setup. Ok, Ok, I really want a straight razor, but I don't want all the hassle of honing, stropping, etc.

Ps. I forgot to add that I'm using Feather Blades. They allow me to focus on technic without using pressure to keep the blade on the skin. I've found that the cheaper blades will work, but I'm afraid of applying too much pressure and cutting myself. And if you use too little pressure with the cheaper blades they tend to start walking or skipping.