What's new

Parker 71R

I have used three different brands/types of DE razors now, and this one is my least favorite. The weight of this razor was nice, and the grip was nice. Compared to my Merkur and my Edwin Jagger though, this blade was really aggressive and I nicked myself quite a bit. I think I have an average beard and about normal, not sensitive, skin. I was using Astra and Merkur blades so maybe a different blade might get better results. I don't necessarily consider myself a beginner; I've been using safety razors for about two years now. However, this razor gave me a real challenge. When I switched to the Edwin Jagger (I had a Merkur for my first one) the quality of my shave went way up. I still use the Merkur blades (which I don't care for, but I don't want to waste them).
I would definitely not recommend this razor for someone who is just learning how to use the DE razors. I would only suggest it for someone who knows they want and is looking for an aggressive shave. Compared to the other two I own, there is considerably more blade exposed and at a more shallow angle to the head.
Grip
5.00 star(s)
Price
4.00 star(s)
Balance
4.00 star(s)
Quality
3.00 star(s)
Adjustability
0.00 star(s)
User Friendly
3.00 star(s)
Aggressiveness
4.00 star(s)
Ease of Blade Replacement
4.00 star(s)
This is my first DE razor. The shave is very pleasant. I expected it to be a bit more agressive than it was. I have shaved with it 3 times since I recieved it and have had no irritation. I would really suggest this to anyone who wants to venture into wet-shaving.:001_smile
Grip
4.00 star(s)
Price
5.00 star(s)
Balance
3.00 star(s)
Quality
5.00 star(s)
User Friendly
4.00 star(s)
Aggressiveness
2.00 star(s)
Ease of Blade Replacement
3.00 star(s)
The Parker 71R is a fairly basic 3 piece razor. You can get it either from bestgroomingtools.com (where I got mine) or from classicshaving.com (they call it a Vintage Style Black Safety Razor). It is made in the far off land of India.

Price