What's new

Merkur HD

Pros: nice safe shave
Cons: eventually rusted and coating flaked off
Bought my HD iate 2007. Had to throw it out end of 2010. I scratched my face one day & noticed that the chrome plating (?) had come away on the head as though it was stiff aluminium foil.
For all the praise for Merkur's quality it seems strange I've struck out with both the HD & Slant (see my other review)
It shaves nicely & as a newbie I quickly learned not to nick myself.
Grip
4.00 star(s)
Price
4.00 star(s)
Balance
4.00 star(s)
Quality
1.00 star(s)
Adjustability
0.00 star(s)
User Friendly
5.00 star(s)
Aggressiveness
3.00 star(s)
Ease of Blade Replacement
4.00 star(s)
Pros: Very easy to learn with
Cons: Hard for me to shave under my nose
My first D/E safety razor and it has been a pleasure to use. I paid too much for it Becasue I got it from AOS. I find it hard to shave directly under my nose but that may be more of a technique issue. For the price this is a great razor.
Grip
5.00 star(s)
Price
4.00 star(s)
Balance
5.00 star(s)
Quality
5.00 star(s)
Adjustability
0.00 star(s)
User Friendly
5.00 star(s)
Aggressiveness
3.00 star(s)
4.00 star(s)
Pros: well made, excellent shave
Cons: short handle takes a couple of shaves to get used to
Excellent razor for the beginner to the advanced user. Handle takes a week to get used to, but is well balanced.
Grip
4.00 star(s)
Price
5.00 star(s)
Balance
4.00 star(s)
Quality
5.00 star(s)
Adjustability
0.00 star(s)
User Friendly
5.00 star(s)
Aggressiveness
3.00 star(s)
3.00 star(s)
Pros: Very close shaves.
Cons: A little more aggressive than some say.
Most say that this is a great beginners razor, not for me it wasn't. I had to learn my technique with milder razors after using the HD due to its aggressiveness.

Once my technique was sorted I then returned to this razor and got stella results. It mows down every whisker in its path and I don't need anything more aggressive than an HD. Superb, but get your technique first.
Grip
5.00 star(s)