What's new

Gold Dollar 74

I wanted to chip in with my thoughts on this razor, i have been using this in my rotation for a few months now, and over all quite happy with the razor, i got 2 of these for under $15 shipped to the uk, cant say that about many razors today, ok they are not the most well crafted razor around, the heel on the one i honed was way off and the handle is so thin you can see through it, but it does the job, i failed to get a good edge on this razor when i used by niwania stones, but hit the jackpot when i got my coti, though it did take me longer than with other razors i have honed, and so far a few strokes on my chrox strop has kept it sharp, it does give a good shave and i am happy with the shaves i get from the razor, and for the price cant really be faulted, i know there has been some issues with the quality of some of these razors, but the one i have honed and used so far is good, i am now thinking of getting another gd, but a different model type.
Price
5.00 star(s)
Lasting Edge
3.00 star(s)
Craftsmanship
3.00 star(s)
Easy to Sharpen
3.00 star(s)
Easy to Maintain
3.00 star(s)
Shaving Smoothness
3.00 star(s)
For what you pay- one came along as a practice blade with a coticule I bought off the B/S/T and I have since bought three of these on EBay from Mr. Parko for a total of about $30 including shipping from Hong Kong- this razor is a clear 10.

Craftsmanship is quite weak- scales are light and cheesy and finish work is sloppy. Factory bevel is very ragged and needs to be reset, at least on the two I have honed so far. The basic grind is good and the blades are flat- a 3.

Ease of sharpening would be an 8, if I did not have to spend a while filing off a heel spur and reshaping the stabilizer end a bit- so a 4. The steel is easy to work with and does take a nice edge.