What's new

Gillette Super Speed 1964

I love my 1960 Flaretip SuperSpeed.

It's less aggressive than my Merkur 38C.

What's most surprising is the quality of these old Gillette's. They are incredibly well-made for what was, at the time, a very inexpensive razor. The butterfly doors function smoothly, the TTO knob glides. The chrome is still very nice after 50 YEARS.

The SS is probably the best razor for a newbie. Very well-balanced, not too aggressive. Just a darn fine razor.

They just don't make things like they used to. :thumbup1:
tumblty;2811805 said:
I have been using my 1964 Gilette SS as my daily razor for over 4 months. Time and time again I find my self swapping out my Muhle R89 for the Super Speed.

:thumbup: I started DE shaving about what 4 months ago? Been using a Muhle R89 (my 1st and (until now) only DE razor). I've been zapped by the RAD virus, and wanted a TTO, so I bid on a 1969 SS (black handle) at ebay auction last week and won the bid. The razor, although not quite as expected, was substantially as described by the seller. It did need a good cleaning (which I'll describe in detail in another thread. The razor was much shorter than expected, with a smaller handle than the Muhle. It is also extremely light. (As usual I bid on the razor and THEN researched more fully instead of the other way around.). :glare:

Anyway, onto the review. I put NA for price b/c I really don't know whether I paid too much or got a good deal. After shipping, total price was $16.00 US. I give the quality a 10 because, well, it's 42 frickin' years old and it works perfectly.

The small handle is a little difficult to maneuver, but I'm sure I'll get used to it. OTOH, the handle length compensates for the razor's light weight (weights about as much as a Mach 3, I think) Somehow, the leverage of the handle on the blade allows a perfect shave without added pressure, thus a perfect 10 for balance.