What's new

Dovo Ivory Micarta 5/8

Pros: Durability and lasting edge. No-nonsense good-looks
Cons: weighty scales (but you get used to that)
This is my first and only straight and was bought after checking out this review thread. I've been shaving with this alone for the past 2 months and have only stropped gently before and after shaving. Very comfortable on the skin and I always check with a HHT after the post shave strop - just for fun! So far shows no sign of dulling at all so have not tried to hone. Scales were slightly disappointing as they had small dings (from new) where the blade seated between. I rounded them off with fine sand-paper and that improved the whole feel. Also the blade didn't always sit perfectly centrally and could touch one side when folded - maybe the pin/hinge wasn't completely straight?...then it was dropped on a tile floor (not me!) and luckily sustained just a small chip which I also sanded out - and the drop cured the closure problem. So it seems pretty durable. I've no plans to upgrade at all as this razor looks good, feels right without being too ostentatious and does what it is supposed to very well. even in the hands of a beginner.
UPDATE: Dec 2012
OK, have been using this razor––and nothing else––since I purchased it. So here is a 3+ year review.
I still get a close comfortable shave despite having never (yep, never) honed it. I just strop on leather 10-20 strokes before a shave and a very light 10 when I've dried the blade after a shave.
I've settled into a happy routine and I reckon my razor, strop and scuttle have paid for themselves in saved disposable blades by now.
The only thing I would change if I was buying a replacement would be to spend more and get a really slick custom. That way I'd add that satisfying glow you get when using something superlative to my morning shave. However, it's satisfying enough to use this knowing that few people can be bothered to enjoy and connect with the slow traditional things in life.