What's new

Custom Brushes by bryce72

The brushes are beautiful. I emailed the store owner - he says he onlyuses 24mm knots 67mm loft. According to this forum, that's a large knot --
http://badgerandblade.com/vb/showthread.php?p=585447#post585447

The 67mm loft appears to be off the scale - maybe he meant 57mm, but that's still a very high lofthttp://badgerandblade.com/vb/showthread.php?p=850831#post850831

My question - if I use soap, not cream, and I have a smaller face, will this brush suit my needs? I had been thinking I needed something in a 20-23mm knot, 45-50mm loft. I'm relatively new to DE shaving (6 months), but am upgradin from my Art of Shaving $25 badger brush. Any advice?
Just had my first lather and shave with my Desert Ironwood Brush.

I was absolutely floored when I got this thing. The bristles were not as soft as other silvertip I had used, which was nice as i could feel it lift the hair.

The handle is big and chunky, great fun to hold and extremely solid. The Ironwood sinks like a stone.

The lather was much better than my Omega boar and Dovo Pure Badger. It almost seemed effortless to create a thick lather.

The looks is absolutely stunning. Such a pretty and unique piece. Glad I bought this.

My only complaint is that already one bristle has fallen out... this worries me.
I bought one of these (Desert Ironwood) in August this year and have been using it every day since. First impressions were excellent workmanship, good loft and the ergonomics were very good. The brush is easy to grip although the handle may make it harder to use in a small shaving mug for instance. Knocking the handle against the rim of a smaller diameter shaving mug could be annoying.