What's new

Classic Brand Wool Fat Shaving Soap, 4oz

Pros: Excellent scent, lanolin
Cons: Can't say
Let me preface all of this by stating the disclaimer that I am new to wet shaving; I have only ever owned or used two soaps: VDH's pink puck they sell with their boar brushes and Classic's shave soaps.

I do plan to expand this line up (T&H Trafalgar Cream is next on my list), but for now I have little to compare it to beyond the old cans of Gillette, Barbasol and the like.

That said, I cannot understand the awful reviews this product has gotten across the internet. I love it! I find it easy to lather (again, I only have VDH to compare it to) and the lather is both slick and smells great! Those who've said they'd rather use canned foam I just cannot understand. I can only conclude they're exaggerating to express their distaste (which makes me really eager for that T&H! If THIS is bad that stuff must be heaven!).

I find this to be monumentally superior to canned foam, gel or any of the other stuff my supermarket carries. Classic, as a vendor, has excellent customer service and prompt fulfillment (though for some reason it's gotten a day slower since they rolled out their new site).

Still, I know enough to be able to list some cons. First, the lather seems to "foam-out" (not sure what to call this). You'll have a good "whipped cream" consistency of lather but after five minutes is a thick, airy foam (very tiny bubbles but bubbles are bubbles). It CAN be rewhipped, but I find this means I have to shave in patches.

Another con is the intense lavender scent; I love it but it does start to burn if left on the skin too long. This can also be drying; I would not use this if you have sensitive skin.

All in all, I find it is vastly superior to supermarket shave products but nowhere near as good as comparably priced products as they have been described on this site.