What's new

3" black cowhide leather strop

I purchased the short version of this strop. I am new to straights and stropping and I only have the Larry Andro Strop to base my review on. But I have seen and held many strops, and this Strop is right up there with the good ones. I noticed that it is much easier to hold with the d rings than a leather handle. The 3 inch wide leather makes it very easy to use. The webbed strop is also very nice. For the price you pay you are getting an incredible value. The strop is very well made and it looks awesome! I reccommend this strop to everyone, it will not let you down!:thumbup1:
Efficacy
5.00 star(s)
xa_sc_review_field_title.fit_&_finish
5.00 star(s)
Overall Value
5.00 star(s)
Amount of Draw
5.00 star(s)
Thickness of Leather
5.00 star(s)
Have been using one of Trey's full-sized strops for about a week straight.
My only other strop is a Filly, so Trey's strop is my first "big" strop. My opinion:

Fit/Finish: Mine is a 3" black piece of vegetable tanned leather combined with a 3" piece of what appears to be nylon webbing. The strop is put together sturdily with Chicago screws, D rings, and a good strong latch. No imperfections in either the leather or the webbing that I can see. I give it a 10.

Amount of draw: Not as much draw as the Ken Rup Filly, but I can definitely tell I'm moving my blades across leather when I use it. I'll give it an 8 on the draw.

Thickness of leather: Trey's leather is certainly no thick hunk of cowhide like the Filly. But there is a lot of strop here for $55, so it is hard to complain. The leather seems thick enough that it would stand up to minor nicks, but I don't want to cut this thing too deeply, or I might end up with two smaller strops. I'll give it a seven on thickness.