What's new

Favorite vehicle(s) you've ever owned? And why.

What has been your favorite (by any definition you choose) vehicle or vehicles? Doesn't need to be the fanciest/most expensive but can be if you choose just the one(s) that you reminisce fondly about and why.

1. 1982 Honda Civic hatchback in poo brown: My first vehicle and starting driving it the day I turned 16. Actually I had been driving it long before that since it was previously my older brother's car but it became my very own once I was legal. By no stretch the fastest or coolest but it was mine and it gave me freedom.

honda_civic_brown_wagon_1980.jpg

2. 1982 Buick Riviera in pearl white: The Honda only lasted a year till the engine packed it in and I had been saving my pennies for a few years and wanted something classy. So at still tender age of 17 I bought myself a rather flash coupe. I've never been much of a car guy and still don't understand the appeal of a cramped loud sports car; I do however like a little bit of luxury and the "Riv" as it was called (the 80's & 90's really did produce some questionable language) with its leather seats and other accouterments afforded this preppy Alex P. Keaton wannabe a pretty nice ride.

2.jpg

Yours?

I purchased this 69 Road Runner 426 Hemi in 69 and 3 months later reported for the draft. I rolled the dice after finding out I was assigned an 11B MOS and headed for RVN. and kept this car in Dad's garage and he looked after it for me. Somehow made it out of the service in 1970. On May 1st. 1971 I married the girl I was dating before I got drafted. First child came along in 1974 and it was time to part company. My wife had to drag me out of it.We had a lot of fun in this car, not to mention it was fast. Looking at this pic. brings back many fond memories.
rr.jpg

I had a 2002 Ford Explorer Sport that I'm missing on this snowy and icy morning. I have a Pontiac G6 GTP now and it's a bit more of a chore driving it in this weather.