What's new

Damn Comfortable Shave

Chan Eil Whiskers

Fumbling about.
My new favorite song.

Read the comments, too.

My daughter is 20. She and her friends all attended competitive schools growing up, the kinds of schools that kick you out for discipline or academic failures. Most of them participated in activities which didn't give participation trophies and rewarded talent and merit and hard work. Almost all of them earned excellent college scholarships, work hard to keep them, and make great grades in academically demanding universities.

proxy.php

She attends the University of Georgia. I graduated from UGA as did my father. Because of a number of factors - particularly Georgia's Hope Scholarship and Zell Miller Scholarship, coupled with the extreme cost of college these days - the university has become extremely competitive in its admission standards. I'm not at all sure I would have been admitted competing against my daughter and her cohort; I'm pretty sure I could have transferred in, but freshman admission is no piece of cake these days.

I'm pretty proud of all my children but particularly her at this moment. She's doing well.

upload_2019-1-5_12-5-32.png

However that doesn't mean a touch of what this parody song says doesn't apply to her. Shoot me, but a touch of it applied to me when I was that age. If the truth be known, a touch of it applies to me now, too. Are we ever fully grown?

Happy shaves,

Jim

Chan Eil Whiskers

Fumbling about.
New brush.

Everybody might already know my favorite brush is my Zenith copper handled Manchurian. I've been wanting another Manchurian in a different handle. Now I have one...

Manchurian.From.Rave.Gift.640.1-5-19.JPG

My new brush was given to me by an extremely generous member.