What's new

Fine American Blend sample smells like gasoline to a newbie

I'm an AS newbie. I only started wearing it very recently and have only tried Clubman Bay Rum and Nivea's balm. I've been wetshaving for years though.

Got a sample of Fine American Blend today. Smelled terrific from the bottle. Loved the menthol warmth on my face. However, just a minute later I can't smell much except for a faint scent of gasoline.

Is this what others smell?

I dont really smell anything from it. Id bought it thinking it smelt like classic Old Spice and I certainly didnt get that from it.

Gasoline?? Interesting (as we all have different noses).

For me AB is in the ‘barbershop’ category and a very pleasant scent!

From the bottle I smell mostly alcohol and menthol, with a slight Barbasol-like hint of scent.

Once applied the full, in you face, Barbershop freshness kicks in; super clean, super fresh, lasts all day! Easily in my top 5 AS scents.

I've had several different Fine Samples and they all smelled full and strong as in the regular product. American Blend is supposed to be a clone of Yves Saint Laurent Rive Gauche. The cologne supposedly smells like shaving cream. I've never tried it. But I do have the soap and a can of Barbasol and they smell the same to me. American Blend is much more room filling. I do remember a review of AB claiming it duplicated the propellant in a Barbasol can. Maybe that's what you're smellng?

I love this AS! Bought 3 bottles in case they go and change the formula like the soaps seem to do quite oftento revamp their formula. Good thing? IDK!
Greg B.

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk

I don't get a gas smell at all. I get a faint alcohol smell when I first apply it, but that fades quickly and I am left with an amazing scent that lasts for hours. As @Strayhair pointed out, it smells very close to Rive Gauche.