What's new

How To Use a Pasted Balsa Strop

Hi,

I am new to SR shaving and looking to learn how to keep my my blade up. I purchased a Boker King Cutter and had Jarrod at TSS hone it so that I start with a good edge. I have read through this thread and also Serapim's Synthetic Progression thread and am a bit overwhelmed and trying to put a basic system in place to learn blade up keep.

Here is what I am looking to put together from my readings:

1) 3 - acrylic blocks 3/4x3x12 for 1/4x3x12 balsa on each (attached w/ rubber cement)

2) .5, .25, .1 diamond on each strip

3) 1 acrylic 3/4x3x12 for 1u lapping film (wetting will make it stick?)

4) 1/16x3x12 plain balsa

Is this a good start? Overkill? Do I need 5u lapping film?

As for use. If it was honed, can I just start with the .1u balsa>1/16 balsa>leather strop or should I go through a whole progression to start 1u film>.5 balsa>.25 balsa>.1 balsa>1/16 balsa>leather strop?

Sorry if this was answered in one of the threads, but there is so much information to take in.

Thanks in advance!!!

steveclarkus

Goose Poop Connoisseur
Looks good. Yes, you will need a leather strop. Likely won't need 5u film but 8u might be a good one to have on hand. Eventually you will want to get a complete pack for about $25 but not for maintenance. Yes water will make it stick, just squegee it out with you hand. Slash will likely look it over for you . Since Jarrod honed it, you probably won't need more than the balsa strops and a leather strop. Run the balsa progression and then just strop on the .1u balsa and leather after each shave and you will be set.

And don’t forget to wipe down your blade in between each step. .5u paste on your .1u strop isn’t good.

Neither is diamond paste of any sort on your leather.