What's new

first time with straight razor at babershop

HI guys.. no stranger here in this fourm.. my old account was hacked and I havent been on this site for awhile.. so I am back.
so.. I have been shaving with safety razor for close 5 yrs now. learned alot from this site. SO I had the crave checking out straight razor shaving. what it like and how I felt about it. there was a guy have a shop in town about 20 mins drive there. I was told he was good. so went have it done.. with 2 days old beard.
he preshave it with electic razor for safety.. prep me with hot towel then its begins.. I can feel that razor is damn sharp. he stroke it one inch at a time. closest shave ever.. a par better than safety razor. Now I know why some folks love straight razor shaving.

My only experiences with SRs at barbershops were when I was a kid, and in the military. They used to cut in the neck and sideburns with them.

I'm thinking about going to have one done for my birthday.

My son got a barber shave a few weeks back. It was a gift from my daughter in law. He said the barber prepped his face with hot towels and oils.

The funny thing, he told my son no matter what, make no sudden moves. Raise your hand if you think you are going to sneeze or cough.

My son got a barber shave a few weeks back. It was a gift from my daughter in law. He said the barber prepped his face with hot towels and oils.

The funny thing, he told my son no matter what, make no sudden moves. Raise your hand if you think you are going to sneeze or cough.
Funny thing? Might prevent a trip to the ER.

Man1: Why did you go to the ER?
Man2: I sneezed.
Man1: Musta been one hell of a sneeze!

Funny thing? Might prevent a trip to the ER.

Man1: Why did you go to the ER?
Man2: I sneezed.
Man1: Musta been one hell of a sneeze!

LOL. My barber uses a SR when she finishes my hair cut to outline the back. She said she would never use one on herself.