What's new

Single Edge vs Double Edge

AimlessWanderer

Remember to forget me!
My thoughts on DE vs SE:

1) DE is cheaper and has better availability

2) I get great shaves with DE

3) Do I really need a point number 3?

3a) I do have SE razors, but ones that use hollow ground wedge blades, so I don't need to worry about the price and availability of blades, I just hone and strop as required. I'm not quite getting shaves as good as DE yet, but it's early days for me and I'm still learning and refining the kit.

Thank you! I will give them a try, and report back my results on SE razors, blades, and etc.
I ordered a sample from l
My thoughts on DE vs SE:

1) DE is cheaper and has better availability

2) I get great shaves with DE

3) Do I really need a point number 3?

3a) I do have SE razors, but ones that use hollow ground wedge blades, so I don't need to worry about the price and availability of blades, I just hone and strop as required. I'm not quite getting shaves as good as DE yet, but it's early days for me and I'm still learning and refining the kit.

I disagree with #1 based on my expenditures.
#2 may be the result of a lack of similar experience you've had with DE type.

AimlessWanderer

Remember to forget me!
I ordered a sample from l

I disagree with #1 based on my expenditures.
#2 may be the result of a lack of similar experience you've had with DE type.

Location may well be a factor on price and availability. I can't recall seeing single edge blades in real world stores anywhere over here. As for price artist club blades seem to be about £1 each, which is considerably higher than DE.

I've got very limited experience on the hollow ground SEs, and in truth am still refining the refurbishment of the equipment. I need a fair bit more time to ensure both the kit and my handling are as good as they can be. Work in progress.