What's new

Choices and need help

Gentleman, I am still pretty new at this but have all of the AD’s that go with straight shaving. I am wanting to get a new to me razor and have found two that I am pretty interested in. Would you kindly look at the two pictures below and give me your opinion of which of the two you would buy and why? Thanks for the help.

proxy.php
proxy.php

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Definitely the second, but I lose all self control when confronted with a shoulder less, barbers notch wedge!!

I am leaning that way too. It is pretty sexy. I wasn’t sure if the engstrom was better steel or something else I didn’t know about. Thanks for the replies.

The second one is very elegant but it is a wedge razor. Wedge razors can give you nasty cuts if you still are learning. Wedge razors require that you have total control when it comes to skin stretching, this since wedge razors cut off everything that comes in the way stubble as well as skin. Therefore I recommend the full hollow razor. A full hollow razor flexes on the skin and thus reduces the risk of being cut.

Then again, as stated above; get both if you can afford them. They both seem to be in good shape an sooner or later you will get an urge to try a wedge razor and the one above is a beautiful specimen.

That was my two cents.

Thank you all for the replies. It looks like the majority are like me and think the second one is the better looking razor.

@Polarbeard, thank you. That is the kind of knowledge I don’t have and am looking for. I may try to get both of them because I want to try an Eskiltuna blade but I also think that wedge looks really awesome. How would it compare to the Friodur 72V? I shaved with it last night and had probably the best shave in terms of irritation and smoothness.

Thank you all for the replies. It looks like the majority are like me and think the second one is the better looking razor.