What's new

Most comfortable edge you can get on a budget?

IMightBeWrong

Loves a smelly brush
I have been honing with a pretty common setup for a few years now. Norton 4K/8K - CNAT, CrOx as needed. I'm just curious, is there another budget friendly finisher I can look for to get a really comfortable shaving edge? The CNAT does a good job but is there something else I should look at if I don't want to drop the dough on an Escher or JNAT?

I think getting a comfortable edge is more about the honer's skill using proper gear than the gear itself. In the right hands, film will be as comfortable as a jnat or an Escher, if the razor is honed properly and if you prefer a film edge. I don't think there's a cheaper medium than film.

You can get a smaller J-nat or Coti for a reasonable price, but as Larry said, film is hard to beat if you are really on a tight budget.

kelbro

Alfred Spatchcock
I have a CNAT that is as good as any high dollar finisher that I've tried. Some have not been as lucky.

These days? Coticules are selling so soft on ebay right now that if you don't have one and you have the cash to spend it's a no brainer

IMightBeWrong

Loves a smelly brush
I can find some smaller Coticules for really low prices. Is it pretty difficult to hone on a 4"x2" Coti?

A stone imo for it's longevity and re sale value is cheaper! $100 jnat and a dmt card. But again there are so many ways to do this thing.

IMightBeWrong

Loves a smelly brush
Where should I look for a JNAT in the 100 range? I looked for a Shoubudani 100 but found them all sold out.

Steve56

Ask me about shaving naked!
Try Alex at The Japan Stone. He also has other stones besides the shobudanis in the same price ramge.

Cheers, Steve

Slash McCoy

I freehand dog rockets
I can find some smaller Coticules for really low prices. Is it pretty difficult to hone on a 4"x2" Coti?