What's new

New to Hones

Right gents be gentle with me please right has any of you used these to hone a razor
all wetstones.jpg

And used one of these 15000 slate stone to finish

finish stone3.jpg

Oh and one of these to see the edge
20170625_130612.jpg

Yes I'm new to all of this as I have these but it tugs a little but the shaves are not bad.

Last edited:
My preference for viewing the bevel is below, small and handy, easily taken along to take a good look at prospective purchases. I have used the type you pictured and personally find it cumbersome.
proxy.php

I have the TAIDEAs, the welsh "15K" in small and a 60x loupe.

My preference for viewing the bevel is below, small and handy, easily taken along to take a good look at prospective purchases. I have used the type you pictured and personally find it cumbersome.
proxy.php

Yes, i find these loupes to be more useful than my 100x version.

The TAIDEAs are not good enough for a good preparation for a finisher. Yes, the welsh "15K" is able to provide a workable "every day edge" even under these circumstances. If i use my Naniwa combination stones and not the TAIDEAs, it is much less work and the edge has no microchipping. After the welsh slate the edge is very much up to the maximum, the welsh slate can provide.

The TAIDEAs are good stones, if you want to start on the cheap. If you learn to hone on these stones, all other artificial hones will be easy. For razors, the TAIDEAs are better to be used with oil, then they are able to refine the edge a bit higher and with less risk for microchipping. But the migration from water to oil might not be a good idea for a beginner. You can use the stone with whatever you want, as long as you routinely wash the stone after each use and to assure, all the oil residue is removed is a tricky part.