What's new

Valobra scents

I have tried a few valobra products including hard and soft soAps. They all have this same weird fragrance to them so off putting to me that I got rid of them. Anyone find this?

Billski

Here I am, 1st again.
No, I have no experience with Valobra products.

I'm here early in the morning with you, Chrome.

I've used the Almond soft soap - Its provides wonderful performance once you've dialed it in and the scent is just fine to me. Its a subtle dry almond scent (rather than sweet marzipan), which I do prefer. I've heard the hard soaps and sticks provide some of the best performance going around.

I've never been that picky about scents and always found it difficult to understand how someone could stop using a product due to its scent (YMMV). I've also found that all scents will grow on me - with a few uses, I can suddenly develop an appreciation for its scent (you begin to think that its probably all just a state of mind). I'd recommend you give it a little more time before getting rid of them.

I have two of the hard pucks, the stick and the soft almond soap. The hard soap has a particular scent characteristic that many people find offensive. I can't quite describe it. I prefer the scent of the soap that Valobra makes for Czech & Speake, but the price of the Valobra is lower so that's why I bought it. The performance is stellar and to my nose the scents are subtle.

Ad Astra

The Instigator
Yes- you are referring to "tallow funk." It is noticeable with Valobra soaps, in my opinion.

It's a faint kind of dirty-shirt smell - this what you're talking about?

AA

Ad Astra

The Instigator
And tallow funk dissipates if you leave the lid off.

I have the excellent Valobra-made AoS Sandalwood, and Valobra's fougere- great soaps, and a natural product. Other tallow-soap makers have worked around tallow funk, as tallow makes for great soap.

AA