What's new

Newbie Here- Feeling defeated and frustrated

I hope this is the appropriate forum but I am a DE user for a while. I received my fatboy a few weeks ago and after a handful of shaves and different blades, I can not seem to get an irritation free shave with it. Naturally I am feeling defeated. I have used an open comb DE before that was a Merkur 25C and got used to that , but I seem to think my blade angle is off. Short of snapping pictures of how I'd normally shave on my neck , what tips do you have for a newbie regarding blade angle? I know most people seem to think 45 degrees is most optimal for this razor... :blush:

I would try different angles to see what works best for you. Once you find out an angle that is comfortable, you can adjust slightly from that point to see what is most effective.

Sent via mobile - Chris

To find the correct shaving angle put the razor perpendicular to your face, that is the head/doors are flat against your face. Tilt the razor down slightly and start your stroke. If you don't feel the razor cutting whiskers tilt the handle further down till you do.
Irritation is usually due to apply pressure and or going over an area without lubrication or too many times.

In my experience, when it comes to DE's the best results come from the least amount of pressure. When frustration is at it highest I would make a lather that is almost TOO wet and thin to stay in place (it gets pretty slick at that point), hold the razor at the furthest point from the head that is comfortable and stable but lets the head pivot like it is pendulum ...and just drag the razor across my STRETCHED skin with only enough pressure to keep the head of the razor in controlled contact. With a thin and slick lather and a pendulum like hold you can hear or feel the whisker being engaged and removed then make note of that angle.