What's new

The Ham Shack - B&B's Amateur Radio Club

Hello fellow HAMs! This club is for B&B's amateur radio operators to discuss equipment, operating, or any other aspect of the hobby.

Welcome as well is anyone else interested in getting into the hobby, or just that want to follow along. You don't need a license to buy ham radio equipment or listen in (at least in most countries). You only need a license if you plan to transmit.

Some useful links:

Amateur Radio Relay League - the primary associate/advocacy group for HAMs in the US.
http://www.arrl.org/

The US FCC page for Amateur Radio
http://wireless.fcc.gov/services/index.htm?job=service_home&id=amateur

I'm KB9NUJ. I've been an operator since the mid 90's, but have not been too active of late. I'm a Tech at the moment, but have no idea why I haven't gone for my General or Extra class. I'm an EE, so can pretty much pass the tests without studying, sans frequency bands, etc :). I just never got around to it, and my focus has been mostly VHF anyway (including a bit of APRS while doing climbing/hiking). Shame on me! I'll see if I can get those done some time this year.

Anyone get to Dayton Hamvention? I'm been a bit sporadic in the last ten years or so...making maybe 3 or 4 times. It's not as crowded now as it was in the 90's and early 2000's, in part due to the huge reduction in the number of generic computer vendors attending. Before the Internet got the web and online sales, Hamvention was a great place to buy computer stuff. These were the days of Computer Shopper magazine, etc. Of course that's not a draw anymore. It's always a hoot attending though and still quite well attended overall.

K1ING.
Also checking in. Thanks for setting this up. Hopefully it gets enough posts to keep going. Ill check daily and try to post up evan if it dont have much to do with radio.