What's new

Japanese versus Swedish steel

I know that Japanese steel is hard and I know that Swedish steel is hard. I'm wondering how would you compare these two national razors?

According to Mastro LIvi; the heat treatment of a razor during production is essential to the quality of the shaves it will later provide; the question of where the quality (note the word "quality", I am not referring to substandard steels that are unsuitable for razors) steel comes from is by comparison of secondary importance.

Personally, I could not care less whether the steel comes from Sweden, Germany or Japan.

B.

There is also a certain savoir-faire that is differs in each razor producing nations that gives the razor the properties that distinguish a Sheffield from a Eskilstuna.

I know that Japanese steel is hard and I know that Swedish steel is hard. I'm wondering how would you compare these two national razors?

I've been asking myself the very same question. I have some experience of Swedish razors but none whatsoever of Japanese razors.

Steve56

Ask me about shaving naked!
It depends on the Japanese razor. Some are normal, most are on the hard side, and some are quite hard. But I have found few or no Japanese razors as hard as the old French steel. I do not have experience with Swedish brands.

Cheers, Steve

Remember that much of these characterizations refers only to the national origin of the FORMULATION of the steel, and NOT the point where forged (which, honestly, is rather irrelevant once the formulation's known)... when German razors say "Swedish Steel" this does not usually mean it was forged in Sweden but always means it uses the popular Swedish formula.

I have found few or no Japanese razors as hard as the old French steel

Funny I was under the impression that Swedish and Japanese were the hardest with the German, Spanish and French in the mid range and the English being the softest.