What's new

Smoked Pork Butt on the Weber - Pic Heavy

So I know there are more BBQ posts than you all can handle, but not sure if anyone has posted about smoking a pork butt a Weber kettle grill. In full disclosure, I do not have a smoker...yet. The Father-in-Law just moved nearby and he is a welder by trade. We are in the design plans to build me a smoker exactly how I want it and with the material that I want to make it out of. When we get going a will post a thread with pics on how we did it and the construction along the way.

At any rate...this is a pic heavy post and so it will take several posts to get through it. Again, apologies if this has been done before! Let's get started...

First of all you have to start with a butt. I went to one of our local stores and picked up a typical two butt pack. I picked up one of the smaller packages at about 17 pounds. Paid 99 cents a pound for it. I've seen better sales but this is pretty good price.

$1.jpg

I went ahead and split the pack up. I have smoked two butts at the same time and it is more food than the wife and I...and the dogs...and the in-laws...and a party...and the neighbors...and a coworker can eat. I put the larger one in the freezer and was left with the smaller side...still about eight pounds.

$2.jpg

Since it was in the fridge...I need to get it at least closer to room temperature and I want to remove excess moisture. So I wrap it up in paper towels and let it sit for a few hours. I ran to the store...making sure the raw meat was placed out of reach of my dogs.

$3.jpg

Stay tuned for the next post in a few minutes.

So I returned from the store and I am ready to get going. I get my coals started and return to the task at hand. I unwrap the butt and get ready to inject it. Yup I said inject it. I know that this cut of pork has a good bit of fat in it and I am in no danger of drying it out or really over cooking. But I like the flavor of it. I use a "Cajun Butter" flavor from the Tony Chachere brand.