What's new

Verbal Job Offer - What's Next?

Hi Gentlemen,

On Wednesday I had a phone interview with the Director of R&D at a laboratory I'd love to work at. The director extended me a verbal offer and we discussed a potential salary and start date. He told me the offer isn't official until I come to NYC to complete the background check and HR process. I'm currently a university graduate student working at the university and this is my first real job offer. The phone interview was Wednesday and as of Friday I haven't heard anything from HR regarding the next step. The potential start date is about two months out. I'm excited but trying to remain realistic and calm. It is in a research/nonprofit/academic laboratory so I don't expect it to be as fast as other companies but I can't help but be anxious.

What are your thoughts?

Drug Test, Background check, etc...

They will be in touch.

It wouldn't hurt to reach out to them on Monday oe Tuesday if you haven't heard from them by them.

Congratulations!

This is always a tough issue and most HR employees almost enjoy their "power" in making applicants squirm. I'd give it at least a couple of weeks before doing anything. You want to avoid embarrassing the director so I'd place a call, not email, to him rather than HR.

It'll be fine. HR will take their sweet time, I can assure you. It's in the DNA of those organizations :). Indeed, if you haven't heard something in a couple more weeks, call your contact to make sure he got all of the wheels in motion.

Good luck. If you don't hear from HR in a brief period of time I would reach out to the person who made the conditional job offer. My reasoning is because of what happened to me a long time ago.