What's new

All TOBS perform the same?

I've gone through a Maggard TOBS sampler and I wanted to hear other opinions on this question.

Do all TOBS perform the same for you?

In more detail; if you couldn't smell the scent would you notice a difference in performance among the TOBS cream line?

My lathering technique is inconsistent at best. I wanted to understand if I could control my lathering if I'd get the exact same lather every time from TOBS regardless of scent.

I feel like I need a little more water with my Jermyn Street than I do with sandalwood or Eton College

The TOBS line is very consistent in performance. They all lather very very well. I personally find that the "slickness" of St. James and Jermyn St. are a little better than say Eton College, which is my favorite in the scent department, but the difference is subtle. For me I haven't tried a TOBS cream that I didn't like.

I have been using TOBS creams for over 10 years, and I have tried all of them. Being as objective as possible, I do not notice a performance difference that is significant. They all perform very, very well for me. So it ends up boiling down to the scent, and that is a very personal decision. I like Mr. Taylors, Lavender, and Almond the best, but I like the others as well, and there aren't any that I dislike.

Matt

The Shave Shop was pretty awesome today. Above my expectations.

Just tried this for the first time today, and I liked it a lot.

For the OP, the half-dozen or so that I've tried all perform about the same for me. I use a bit more than the regulation "almond-sized dollop" and I sneak up on it with the water.

The TOBS line is very consistent in performance. They all lather very very well. I personally find that the "slickness" of St. James and Jermyn St. are a little better than say Eton College, which is my favorite in the scent department, but the difference is subtle. For me I haven't tried a TOBS cream that I didn't like.

+1 perfect synopsis.