What's new

Bismarck 11/16 razor

$razor 1.JPG$razor 2.JPG

Hi, how's it going? I'm new to SE shaving but I've been using a DE for a fair while now. I've always wanted to try the "real thing", so I picked up this Bismarck 11/16 fully hollow ground for a fair price. The guy had 100% positive feedback, and said that the razor was shave ready (being honed through a series up to 1200 grit then stropped), but I still feel it tugging a bit more than my DE. Granted I've only tried it once so far, but could it be my technique that's the problem (angle maybe?), or is it just not shave ready? It seems to be in remarkably good condition given its age, and the birdseye maple scales are lovely!

Attachments

• $razor 1.JPG
    $razor 1.JPG
    1.1 KB · Views: 95
1200 grit is where we start the hone. It's fine for knives, but that's the point we set the bevel, and start to polish up a usable, tug free edge. Most of us shave from an 8-12k edge, many up to 20k or even off 50k pastes.

I would recommend you find a honer here, and get it honed properly by someone who knows what they're doing.

Mike H

Instagram Famous
Welcome to B&B. The problem is that you have no way to tell if it your technique, or if the razor is not quite shave ready. Many, if not all new straight razor shavers report the blade tugging or pulling. It is a learned skillset that takes practice. I do not know who sold you the razor, or how "shave ready it is". However, since they went to the trouble of installing new scales, I would imagine they know how to hone. I also assume they honed to 12,000 grit, not 1200. If they said 1200, then you definitely need to send the razor out for rehoning.

I skipped a zero, sorry, it was indeed 12k. Here's what he said: