What's new

Concerns with first brush, insight please

Hey, I'm brand new to the "art" of shaving, I'm waiting for my straight razor to show up and I've been looking at brushes. I want to get a good quality badger brush. I was at the mall tonight and went to house of knives and they had a silver tip made by ice shave for $100. I am concerned with this because arent quality silver tip brushes like a few hundred? I am concerned by the cost, I really do not want to buy sub par quality that I will be unhappy with in six months. Please let me know your opinions

I'm not familiar with that brand, but you can get a silver tip for as low as $100. It just depends on the brush maker. Cost of the brush has more to do with the size of the knot too. A larger knot will cost more than a smaller knot. BTW, silver tip means different things to different brush makers. There's no standardization as to what silver tip is, but usually a silver tip brush will be softer. If in doubt, buy a brush from a reputable vendor. The Savile Row 3824 is a fantastic brush for just over $100.00. You can get them from QED USA. Also, the Rooney 3/1 is another great choice. That's going to be just under $100.00.

Welcome to the confusing world of shaving brushes.

Let us know what kind of characteristics you think you might like in a brush. The members here can help you by suggesting some proven brushes based on your criteria.

Welcome aboard. A few thoughts, in listicle form, not necessarily in order of importance.
1. I have never heard of that brand. I wouldn't spend 100 bucks on it. No how, no way. 2
2. The 2-300 price range is pretty elite, and you don't have to get anywhere near that to buy a good brush. 100 is actually kind of a sweet spot.
3. You can get a nice silvertip for under 100 bucks. Whipped Dog has a good reputation (I've not used one).
4. Badger grades are largely meaningless across brands anyway, there are no real standards.