What's new

Recommendations before paying too much for straight razors.

Gentlemen,
I am brand new to straight razor shaving. Getting a "real" barbershop shave was on my bucket list, so I found a local barber that could do it.It was fun but cost me $40.00. Once was enough. I decided to learn how to do itmyself. And I did.

My biggest accomplishment is not having cut myself so bad that I bledout on the bathroom floor. It's really not all that hard and a heck of a lot offun. That's the good news.

The bad news is that buying straight razors can be addicting. Adding to the problem, Bill Gate invented computers and some kid thought upE-Bay. That is a deadly combination; especially for me. I have too much money(when Momma isn't watching) and too few brains. I am afraid I have been takento the cleaners. But as the saying goes; "fool me once, shame on you, foolme twice, shame on me."

BOTTOM LINE: I would really like some help/advice before I throw good moneyafter bad.

I just bought a Filarmonica. I had been looking "online" and on E-bay and saw the darn things priced at almost a ThousandDollars, so I figured for them to cost that much, they must be one of the beststraight razors out there. So I bought one - paid $300.00. This morning I spoketo my first straight razor enthusiast. He told me a Filarmonica is not worthspit. And he seemed very knowledgeable about straight razors. I also bought aPuma and paid another $300.00. I was afraid (embarrassed) to even ask aboutthat one!!!

Realizing that any responses will be subjective, I would really like someadvice. In a couple of days I will bid on what I think are several high endstraight razors. I do not mind paying the money if the razors are worth theprice. But I don't want to get taken again. I am going to be in enough troubleonce my wife finds out how much I have already spent!!!

Here are my specific questions:

1. Filarmonica. I bought a sub-cero for$300.00. How bad did I get screwed?