What's new

Alcohol in aftershave

So this has probably been covered before. I see people praising bay rum, but isn't alcohol-based aftershave a no-no because it dries the skin?

I currently am using the Bay Rum to splash on post-cold water rinse. I then let it sit there whilst I clean out my brush, bowl, and razor. I then cold water rinse, and then apply Neutrogena Post Shave Lotion. I use the Bay Rum because I feel it serves as a kind of antiseptic that feels cool on the face. I do think it dries the skin, which is why I personally use the secondary lotion to provide moisture. I am by no means an expert, but am simply offering my experience.

No, it's not. Many folks like the feeling of such AS. And the little that you apply, IMO, does not dry anything if you have normal skin.

I like high alcohol aftershaves, I feel it's healing and antiseptic. There are moisturizers in aftershaves that compensate for the drying.

For some. I love the alcohol burn post shave and have naturally oily skin. Bay rum burns like no other; it's great!

If you have dry skin/don't like the burn, there are many alcohol free aftershaves and balms. You could also check out some witch hazel toner. It's popular in these parts.

Best of luck along the journey,

Last edited:

luvmysuper

My elbows leak
Staff member
Nonsense, I'm 54 and have been using it every day for the past 40 years and it hasn't harmed me a bit.

$wrinkled-man.jpg

But really, give it a try. If it isn't for you, it isn't for you - but many folks use it daily, including myself and have absolutely fine skin.
It certainly isn't for everyone (what is?) but it isn't the horrible skin killer that some sellers of alternative products would like you to believe.

Luc

"To Wiki or Not To Wiki, That's The Question".
Staff member
I always thought it would dry the skin but since I tried a AS splash with alcohol, I never went back to balms! (except for this one time as I was testing the Brut Balm and my face was greasy after)